Moments with Mom

I grew up in Maryland surrounded by my entire family on my Mom’s side.  And that’s saying alot…My mom is one of 8 kids and practically all of her siblings have had children as well…and then they have had kids…you get the point.  5 years ago we moved and it was quite an adjustment for me at first.  I missed a lot of the family gatherings for holidays and birthdays that I had grown so accustomed to being a part of…all of our family jammed into a little tiny house where my mom grew up and we caught up on what’s going on in one another’s lives and had a feast and usually the favorite dessert of whoever we were celebrating that day.  Of all the gatherings I miss though, I really have missed being a part of my parent’s birthday celebrations.  It’s not like the kid’s birthdays where you have a party on the weekend near their birthday…you typically celebrate on the day of…and during the work week, that’s a rough round trip drive of at least 10 hours.  This year, my Mom and Dad came to our house on the way to their vacation and it just so happened they were here on my Mom’s birthday!  YAY!!!  We celebrated with her favorite ice cream and pizza places in town.  The girls made her a floral door hang like they had made for their teachers and although I went in on a gift for her with my sister for Mother’s/Birthday, I had to give her something!  The best part about the gift I made was that we made it together.  It was great…she had input on the size, pockets…so many things and we ended up with this:

The pockets were measured for particular things she likes to carry.  One side for cell phone, cash, vitamins, etc…  One side was specifically for credit cards/store specific cards.There you have it!  My mom’s purse and my first try at making one!  It was a lot of fun to create and definitely won’t be my last purse!  I’ve already got fabric to make one for myself…on another 8th day in the future!

2 Comments

  1. Mama J
    Posted 24 Jul 11 at 7:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    Great job Kristina Louise! Love the colors too! Glad you got to celebrate with your Mom!

  2. Posted 26 Jul 11 at 9:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    Nice job. Looks fantastic. Proud of you!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*