Hello…My name is SALSA

I figured since my blog is about “The Random Crafty and Occasional Culinary Creations from the Crazy Imagination of a girl named Kristina” that I ought to put a culinary creation in here.  This one is a recipe that I got from my sister in law that she got from a blog that she got from who knows where!  It is delicious and I do hope you will try to concoct it in your own kitchen soon.

The beauty of it is you can make it how you like it.  I am more of a restaurant style salsa girl myself…not too chunky but not sauce either.  I just put the ingredients in my blender and pulse to the right consistency for me.  I have also made it in a food processor, but beware of the leakage and try to separate your liquid into a bowl, pulse just the solids and then combine them again into the container you will store it in.  Also, helpful hint…measure your cilantro before you chop it!  It can make a huge difference in taste…you can fit a whole lot more chopped cilantro in a measuring cup than you can before it is itty bitty.  I pull off a bunch and lay it in the cup without smushing it too much, but if you’re a fan of cilantro…smush away!  Last tip…if you haven’t tried them yet, Tostitos multigrain tortilla chips are the best!

Fresh Homemade Salsa

Ingredients:

28oz can of whole tomatoes

10 oz can of original Rotel

10 oz can of mild Rotel

1/2 cup fresh cilantro, measure then chop

1/4 cup diced yellow or white onion

1 to 2 cloves garlic, diced

1 small jalapeno, diced

juice of half of a large lime or whole small lime

1/4 tsp. each of sugar, salt and ground cumin

Chop/dice ingredients to suit you and add all ingredients to blender or food processor.  Pulse until it is the consistency you like then refrigerate for at least 2 hours before eating to let the flavors combine.  Serve with your favorite tortilla chips, quesadillas or tacos.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.