Kid Designed…Parent Approved

My daughter, Megan, thought that Mommy had a pretty cool new hobby when I first started doing all of this applique and wanted to make a design too.  I thought this was a great idea, so I asked her to draw me something that she would like me to help her put on a shirt.  She drew out the letters L-O-V-E just as you see them and picked out the fabric for each letter.

I just love it!  Don’t you?

Well, I had an idea to make my girls and Grace and Sophie some coordinating Pj’s…so I made their Pj’s bottoms to have my girls match the bottoms of their friends.  I thought of what I could put on their tops to coordinate them even further but then remembered the idea above so instead I had them each draw a picture of a flower for me to cut out and put on their shirt.  Again they picked the fabric that they wanted their flower to be and all I did was sew it on.  If you look closely you can see their picture they each drew.

Below is a picture of Grace with her rose design.  Didn’t she do a great job with her drawing?  She told me later that she copied the swirl from the fabric into her stem for her rose.  Work of art, I say!

Here’s Megan with her Daisy design.

And these 2 are inseparable, literally!  The are the cutest little friends that I ever did see.  We only see each other 4-6 times a year but every time it is like they just saw each other yesterday.  Reminds me of Wendy and I…apple doesn’t fall far, huh?

One Comment

  1. Wendy
    Posted 22 Sep 10 at 8:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    Grace and Sophie love their new PJs and want to wear them every night!! Adding their own artwork and personal touch is such a great idea. Thank you for doing this project with them. Love you!

One Trackback

  1. By Our own creations « 8th Day Creations on 10 Apr 11 at 4:32 pm

    […] in a four square format on just about any paper she gets her hands on.  I thought about how cute her previous design was and decided it was time for another.  Her sister, Sarah, even joined in and made one too (with […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.